We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Ghost In The Shell (Original Soundtrack)

by Kenji Kawai

supported by
friendlymirror thumbnail
friendlymirror Haunting and epic, just like the film itself.
GUYMFF thumbnail
GUYMFF Я обожаю этот поистине невероятный саундтрек за то, что он как ничто иное передаёт атмосферу киберпанка и технократического будущего! А погружение в не менее потрясающую, оригинальную 攻殻機動隊 мангу - под эту музыку становиться гораздо глубже!
Gabriel Ralls
Gabriel Ralls thumbnail
Gabriel Ralls One of the greatest soundtracks to one of the greatest films! The vinyl sounds glorious - totally does it justice.
more... more...
  • Limited edition LP + 7” + OBI + Silver Foil + Extensive 24-page liner notes

    Sold Out

  • Kenji Kawai - Ghost In The Shell OST Test Pressing (Edition of 20)

    Collector's item // Kenji Kawai - Ghost In The Shell OST test pressing // Only 20 available // Only here // 25 euros only.


    Sold Out

  • Kenji Kawai - Ghost In The Shell OST Repress Test Pressing (Edition of 30)

    Collector's item // Kenji Kawai - Ghost In The Shell OST repress test pressing // Only 30 available // Only here.


    Sold Out

  • Regular edition LP


    Sold Out




Artist: Kenji Kawai
Title: Ghost In The Shell (Original Soundtrack)
Label: We Release Whatever The Fuck We Want Records

LP :
A1 謡I - Making Of Cyborg
A2 Ghosthack
A3 Puppetmaster
A4 Virtual Crime
A5 謡II - Ghost City
B1 Access
B2 Nightstalker
B3 Floating Museum
B4 Ghostdive
B5 謡III - Reincarnation

Bonus 7” (limited edition only) :
A1 挿入歌 毎天見一見! (See You Everyday)

We Release Whatever The Fuck We Want Records is thrilled and honored to announce the first ever official vinyl pressing of the soundtrack for Mamoru Oshii’s critically acclaimed and all around legendary science fiction anime film GHOST IN THE SHELL (1995), adapted from Masamune Shirow’s groundbreaking manga series of the same name.

Cut from the original master reels at Emil Berliner Studios (formerly the in-house recording department of renowned classical record label Deutsche Grammophon), the album comes in two versions: a limited collector’s edition (LP and bonus 7" housed in sleeve with silver gilt printing, Japanese obi, and 24-page liner notes) and a standard LP.

The haunting score is composed by Kenji Kawai, one of Japan’s most celebrated soundtrack composers alongside Joe Hisaishi and Ryūichi Sakamoto, whose work includes Hideo Nakata’s Ring (1998) and Ring 2 (1999), Death Note (2006), Hong Kong films Seven Swords by Tsui Hark (2005) and Ip Man by Wilson Yip (2008), and countless others. Kawai’s compositions see ancient harmonies and percussions uncannily mesh with synthesized sounds of the modern world to convey a sumptuous balance between folklore tradition and futuristic outlook. For its iconic main theme "Making of Cyborg", Kawai had a choir chant a wedding song in ancient Japanese following Bulgarian folk harmonies, setting the standard for a timeless and unparalleled soundtrack that admirably echoes the film’s musings on the nature of humanity in a technologically advanced world.

Ghost in the Shell is widely considered one of the best anime films of all time and its influence has been felt in the work of numerous movie directors, including James Cameron (Avatar), the Wachowskis (The Matrix), and Steven Spielberg (AI: Artificial Intelligence).

Points of interests:

- For fans of anime, manga, movie soundtracks, science fiction, ambient, folkore, Japan, Akira, artificial intelligence, Midori Takada, official releases pressed to vinyl from the original source.

- The first ever OFFICIAL vinyl release of the soundtrack for Mamoru Oshii’s legendary science fiction anime film GHOST IN THE SHELL (1995).

- 17th release from WRWTFWW Records aka We Release Whatever The Fuck We Want Records (John Carpenter’s Dark Star Soundtrack, Midori Takada’s Through The Looking Glass, Piero Umiliani’s Tra Scienza e Fantascienza and Il Mondo Dei Romani...), label founded and curated by Olivier Ducret of Mental Groove (Miss Kittin, Brodinski, Kadebostany, Donato Dozzy...) and Stephan Armleder of Villa Magica Records (Genesis Breyer P-Orridge, Christian Marclay, Stephan Eicher & Rainier Lericolais, John Armleder, Sylvie Fleury...)


released June 26, 2017



WRWTFWW Records Geneva, Switzerland

WRWTFWW Records + We Release Jazz

contact / help

Contact WRWTFWW Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account